Road full of promise

Well, it’s time to start the blog up again. Here’s to a new chapter of adventures! I’ve returned to the bum life, a woman without a home once again. I am as free as a junco bird, and it feels so good!

Last week, I quit my job as a nurse in a surgical ICU and moved out of my apartment in Avondale. After a year and a half of the normal working life, it was time for a sabbatical, as well as a change of scenery. Birmingham, you’ve been so good to me. But the mountains have been calling…and it’s time to go. North cackalacky, I’m coming for ya (in a very roundabout way)! 

last supper in avondale with my pro moving crew
 
last day at work with my awesome “nurse mommas!”

  

So before I start a new job and become a responsible adult again, it’s time for some adventure! I’ll be heading out to California in three weeks to thruhike the Pacific Crest trail! One of my best friends, Steven, will be joining this epic journey. On May 6, we will begin a northbound hike from the Mexican border and won’t stop until we reach Canada. 2,680 miles of scorching desert, high mountain passes, crater lakes, river gorges, pristine forests, wild animals and who knows what else. To say that I’m stoked doesn’t even cut it!!! 

Even since finishing the AT, I’ve been dreaming and scheming about how to get back to the trail life. This time around, I knew I wanted to share the experience of thruhiking with a partner. Fortunately, Steven is also a travel nurse, making it easy to take breaks between jobs. I somehow convinced him to come along, as well as buy all the beer!  Steven is a badass ultra and trail runner, so hopefully he can keep up with lil ole Chicory.

my best bro steven!
PCT, here we come!

Over the next three weeks, I’ll be visiting all my favorite people before I head west for the summer. From the swamps of Louisiana to the mountains of Maine and back, my faithful car and I will experience America via highway and byway. I converted Red into an adventure vehicle, outfitted with enough outdoor gear and snacks to equip me for any situation that may arise. Stops on the trip include- 

  • birmingham, AL- friends, duh!
  • asheville, NC- trailcation and visit my mom!
  • providence, RI- visit Steven in his current location!
  • acadia national park- weekend trip with Steven!
  • boston- hang out with friends and watch the boston marathon!
  • atlanta- friends!
  • birmingham- one last hurrah!
  • new orleans- jazz fest, family, flight to San Diego!
my driving buddy yesterday
the Great Eastern Roadtrip, rough route

So, let the good times (and wheels) roll! 

Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road
Jack Kerouac

6 thoughts on “Road full of promise

  1. I am admire your spirit of adventure and your ability to prioritize what brings color to your journey. Wishing you the best! Andy Knight

  2. How Andy beat me to the comment section, I will never know! Oh Ali, wonderful Ali…keep listening to the mountains when they call your name and GO! I need lots of hugs first, though! You sure bring a new meaning to the greeting, “Happy Trails!” Love you, Mom

Leave a comment